Meshfree Methods Seminar, Summer 2013
   DEPARTMENT OF APPLIED MATHEMATICS

Back to current seminar: Current seminar
Date & Time Location Speaker/Title
Tuesday, May 21,
10:00-11:30 am
SB 225 All participants
Brief introduction of 5-10 minutes about participant's research problem.

Thursday, May 23,
3:00-4:30 pm
E1 244 Prof. Chen Nan
Monitoring Wafer Geometric Quality using Additive Gaussian Processes.
Presentation Download Link

Tuesday, May 28,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 244 Haocheng Bian and Joseph Kupiec
Brief introduction of their summer research problem.

Thursday, May 30,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 244 Lluís Antoni Jiménez Rugama
Automatic algorithms for function approximation using its series decomposition in a basis.
Presentation Download Link

Tuesday, June 4,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 244 Prof. Michael McCourt
Gaussian Processes: Questions and Answers.
Presentation Download Link

Thursday, June 6,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 244 Prof. John Erickson
A Crash Course in Kernel Methods. PART 1.
Presentation Download Link

Tuesday, June 11,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 244 Prof. John Erickson
A Crash Course in Kernel Methods. PART 2.
Presentation Download Link

Thursday, June 13,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 244 Xiaodong Zhang
A Introduction to simple Monte Carlo method and study on kurtosis change in importance sampling method.
Presentation Download Link

Tuesday, June 18,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 244 Haocheng Bian and prof. Michael McCourt
Numerical Methods for the Solution of the Hilbert-Schmidt Integral Eigenvalue Problem.
Presentation Download Link

Thursday, June 20,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 244 Siyuan Deng
An Investigation of Quasi-Standard Error for Quasi-Monte Carlo Methods.
Presentation Download Link

Thursday, June 27,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 244 Sunny
Introduction of the summer research.

Joseph M. Kupiec
Audit-Staff Scheduling by Column Generation.


Tuesday, July 2,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 245 Martin Dillon
RKHS and the Fractional Brownian Motion Kernel.
Presentation Download Link

Thursday, July 11,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 124 Lluís Antoni Jiménez Rugama
Error estimation using fast transform coefficients.
Presentation Download Link

Tuesday, July 16,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 245 Professor Greg Fasshauer
A Few Different Perspectives on Kernel-based Interpolation and Kriging. PART 1.
Presentation Download Link

Thursday, July 18,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 124 Professor Greg Fasshauer
A Few Different Perspectives on Kernel-based Interpolation and Kriging. PART 2.
Presentation Download Link

Tuesday, July 23,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 245 Matthew Gliebe
Computing the Mahalanobis Distance Using Stable Kernel Methods.

Haocheng Bian
Numerical Methods for the Solution of the Hilbert-Schmidt Integral Eigenvalue Problem.
Presentation Download Link

Thursday, July 25,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 124 Yiou Li
An introduction to the project: optimal placement of wind turbines for wind farm using wind power generation model and particle swarm optimization

Tuesday, July 30,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 242 Sonja Petrovic
Markov chains on network fibers - model testing in algebraic statistics

Thursday, August 1,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 242 Martha Razo and Sunny
Fooling function

Sunny
Summer research

Tuesday, August 6,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 242 Professor Sou-Cheng (Terrya) Choi
Guaranteed Automatic Integration Library (GAIL) version 1---before and after
Presentation Download Link

Thursday, August 8,
10:00-11:30 am
E1 242 Lan Jiang, Yuhan Ding and Yizhi Zhang
Guaranteed Automatic Integration Library (GAIL).
Presentation Download Link (Lan Jiang)
Presentation Download Link (Yuhan Ding)



For More Information Contact: Lluís Antoni Jiménez Rugama